6 comments on “Mac Pro Hardware Issues and OSX Downgrade

  1. Hi Randy,

    I finally ended up getting a Cintiq. I went with the 12wx, although for so long I was set on getting the 20wsx. I figured since I already have two 22″ displays and I typically am not one for making large strokes that the 12 would be good for me. It’s also very nice that it can easily sit on my lap and it was less than half the price of the 20.

    I can see how because of the Flash CS3 interface a bigger screen is best, so that there is room for the timeline. I am more of a painter and designer though so I do not use Flash very often. If I didn’t already have two other big displays I would have been more tempted to go with the 20.

    It has been about a week now and I am happy to report that I have not had any crashes with the Cintiq on 10.5.4. I leave my Intuos 3 connected to control my other two displays by just moving the pen from the Cintiq to the tablet. This way there is an extra express key that doesn’t need to be set to display toggle. I have noticed that every once in a while I have to unplug the Intuos and plug it back in because it stops recognizing all the pens. I think this might be because I have not reinstalled the driver since I got the Cintiq.

    I have found another mac user running a 20wsx and a 12wx on a macbook pro and he has not had any crashing issues either. I think that your graphics card might be causing the problem.

    What graphics card do you use? My Mac Pro has a Nvidia 8800gt running the two 22″ monitors and a 7300gt for the Cintiq. If you got another card you could try out different monitor combinations to see if it stops the crashing. You could try one monitor per card, or take the old card out and put both monitors in the new card. Besides the Nvidia 8800gt there is a new ATI card (the 3870) available for Mac Pro’s. This card is available from OWC or ATI’s website, but not yet on Apple’s store.

    Good luck. I hope that you are able to find a solution soon.

  2. Hi Bryan,

    Congratulations on your new Cintiq! I am glad to hear that you are able to run it with your Mac with no issues at all. And yes, I am slowly starting to feel that it might be a hardware issue. I am just hesitant to bring it in for repairs right now because I am in the middle of a project and having it serviced means no workstation for me for a number of days. I could work on the iMac, but I am holding off a bit.

    You are not the only one who says it might be the graphics card. I have the stock ATI on my Mac Pro. I might upgrade to the Nvidia one but that will have to wait a bit.

    Thanks for the feedback! Enjoy your new toy!

    Randy

  3. I’ve just ordered a 20wsx and should have it here by the middle of this week.

    I’m running a Dual Core 2 ghz G5 powermac, OS 10.5.4, 2.5 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE with 128 MB VRAM.

    I’ve been reading about your experiences with interest and will post any issues I may encounter once my unit has arrived and I have had some time to play with it.

    Jimmy Smutek

  4. Hi Jimmy,

    Thanks for dropping by. Would be great to hear from another Cintiq user on how the user experience will be with your version of the Mac.

    Randy

  5. Hi, just discovered your post when WP popped up an automated link to something I posted about my Mac Pro.

    Bought a 2008 Quad-Core early last year and (touch wood) it’s been rock solid. Still, I know how frustrating crashes can be (from my years of doing Windows support!). Anyway, it’s always worth keeping an eye on the Console (Applications/Utilities) because when things get flakey that’s often the first place you’ll see signs of something going on. There are a few other logs too which you can access via About This Mac – More Info – Software – Logs, to see if trouble is brewing =;o)

    Anyway, hope it helps.

    All the best – Robin.

Leave a Reply

