6 comments on “Mac OS X 10.5.3/10.5.2 Breaks Wacom Tablet Driver.

  1. Hi Dong,

    Now that you have thoroughly expressed your feelings through your rantings, and although I am not the techie geek who have no right to say anything about the technical aspects of these things you are talking about, remember me telling you that my IMAC was giving me slight trouble two weeks ago? Well, now that I recall it was just after I did a software update. So I am now wary about doing this updating thing dahil parang nagkakaproblema pagkatapos.

    So what say you?

  2. Hi Mom,

    Now that you mentioned it, I think that may be the cause of your issue with iChat too. Nothing that a Repair Disk Permission could not fix, I assume.

    I guess you are right on being wary of this Software Updates. I have heard other Mac users refusing to do them too primarily because of these issues suddenly popping up.

  3. hi, i was reading ur blogg and i thought maybe u can help me out, i recently bought a wacom cintiq 12wx, i installed it and everything was great, ive been using it for no more than 2 weeks with photoshop cs2 to do my web comics (http://ninja-boogie.blogspot.com) and now the program ceases to work properly, it does not recognize the file, edit, view, etc. buttons, the only thing i can do is minimize the window, it does not save any of my work, u talked about dowloading video cards, what is that? i forgot to mention i am an idiot when it comes to computers, and i’ll understand if u dont have the time or patience , but if u can guide me that would be sweet thanxs

  4. Hi Enrique, I am sorry to hear about your problem with the Cintiq and Photoshop CS2.

    I am not an expert, but I did remember reading something in the internet about somebody having almost the same issues as yours. I just could not find the link to that page at the moment. In the meantime, maybe you can try doing a clean re-installation of the Wacom Tablet Driver. Do not use the driver that came with the CD of your Cintiq, rather, go to Wacom.com and download the latest driver for your particular Cintiq model and operating system.

    Hope that helps. You have a very cool blog, by the way! Nice web comics, keep it up!

    Randy

  5. Just a few days ago, my year-and-a-half old Wacom Intuos3 started glitching on me with no warning. I run on OS X 10.5.4, and it was running fine, using the tablet for my Photoshop and Painter works. Then one day the keyboard went haywire (it types up different symbols instead of the regular alphabet), Firefox goes on Safe Mode, About this Mac disappears.

    After alot of tinkering, I found the culprit to be my tablet. When I take it out of the USB and reboot, OS X works fine. Attach it again, and OS X goes bonkers. I have the latest 6.08-2 driver for the tablet. I also tried using it on my old Powerbook G4 running Tiger, and it does the same thing.

    Has anyone encountered this? Do I need to replace my tablet now?

  6. Hi Dagger,

    Sorry about the issue you are having with your tablet and 10.5.4. I never had issues with an Intuos3, though I have not been running one under 10.5.4 for quite some time. I have downgraded to 10.5.1 where my Cintiq have been running trouble-free.

    Have you tried doing Repair Disk Permissions? I can’t say for sure if you need to replace the device, maybe it is just the driver or some preference.

    Sorry if I was no help at all. Good luck with your troubleshooting.

    Randy

Leave a Reply

